Quick Breakfast Oatmeal

By Julie

Time: 6 min

Serves: 2

I love warm breakfast.  I love pancakes and french toast and fluffy eggs with salty, crispy bacon. While delicious, these items are not practical for everyday.  They contain a ton of sugar and fat (because lets face it, sugar and fat are delicious, especially together).  I wanted something warm and comforting that would not make me sad to eat.  I remembered those instant packages of quaker oats with apple and cinammon, and raisin and spice from my childhood.  My mother would buy the variety packs, my brother would hoard all the good kinds, and I would be stuck with peaches and cream (which secretly I loved… reverse psychology and all that).  I wanted to stay away from the processed taste and high sodium content of pre-packaged foods so I settled on quick oats.  Oatmeal in mason jars is a big trend right now, but I’m not that in to make-ahead at the moment.  There’s really no reason since the baby naps at a reasonable breakfast hour and this entire process takes about 6 minutes.

In an effort to shave some of the time needed to make this breakfast, I use quick oats.  Please feel free to use old fashioned. They are better for you and tastier.  This recipe is a base to make your own blends so you can change it up, but an example is provided.

You Will Need:

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup of quick oats
  • 1 cup of your favourite fresh fruit (I used a medium apple)
  • 1/4 cup of your favourite dried fruit or nuts (I used thompsons raisins
  • 1 tsp of your favourite spices (you can use any variety, don’t exceed 1 tsp total.  I used cinammon).

Cooking:

Over medium-high heat, bring the milk, water, fresh fruit and dried fruit to a boil.  Add spices and oats.  Continue to boil for 1 min stirring constantly.  Remove from heat and cover, letting the mixture stand for 4 minutes.  I used a non-stick pot because I hate scraping oatmeal off a steal pan.

Voila.  Just like that you’re done.  Garnish with your favourite greek yogurt and some fresh berries and granola, and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

