Homemade Veggie Bouillon

imageBy: Corinne

This veggie bouillon is my ‘secret’ ingredient, and one of my favourite things. I never buy chicken stock or any of those bouillon cubes. In addition to using it as an addition to soups and stews, risotto and pastas, I also love to rub a few tbsp into a roast before cooking.

It’s versatile and forgiving. I also love that you can control the saltiness of it. Warning though, the less salt you add, the harder it will get in the freezer. I suppose you could make it with no salt at all and freeze it in tbsp portions, though I’ve never tried that.

Inspired by http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/homemade-bouillon-recipe.html. My version uses considerably more veggies and considerably less salt. While initially it might seem like a lot of money on the produce, if you regularly buy chicken stock you very quickly are saving money (and adding flavour!) using this instead.

You Will Need:

  • 2 large bunches flat leaf parsley, rinsed and spun dry
  • 1 bunch cilantro, rinsed and spun dry
  • 1 large carrot (I used 4 little skinny ones, you want about 1 cup after you’ve processed it) peeled or unpeeled whatever your preferance
  • 3 large leeks, white part only, rinsed if they are gritty
  • 3-5 cloves of garlic, skins removed
  • 1 small fennel bulb, or about half a large one, core removed (you want about 1 cup after processing)
  • 1 small/medium celriac, peeled(if you can’t find it, you can substitute 3-4 stalks of celery)
  • 6-8 sundried tomatoes, preferably not the ones in oil, but they will work if that’s all you can find
  • ¾ cup of coarse sea salt

Find yourself a large bowl. Process ingredients one at a time in a food processor. I usually do the tomatoes and the garlic together as they require a little more time. You want everything to be in fine pieces, but not totally pulverized into paste- see in the picture how you can still see bits?

image

Sprinkle the salt over the top about ¼ cup at a time, thoroughly mixing between additions.

To use, add 1/2 to 1 tbsp (or more if you like, that’s just what I use) to one cup of hot water to replace one cup of store bought stock. This recipe makes quite a bit, however, it keeps at least a year in the freezer. I also have a few friends who request a portion whenever I make it, so I find myself making it a few times a year.

6 thoughts on “Homemade Veggie Bouillon

  1. I made this a few weeks ago. Despite having to process everything outside because the food processor makes the baby cry, it turned out fantastic. I’ve used it in soup, stirfry, and to season cous cous. It’s good stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

