Gordon Ramsay’s Home Cooking

By Julie

20160331_154035

There is a lot of information in this book.  A lot.  Everything from how to chop an onion, to how to give your ribs extra flavor.  Home Cooking is a bible of everyday tips and information on how to be a better home cook.  This book is suitable for beginners and has a little something for everyone.

Remember that Ramsay is from the U.K. and does not measure in cups and teaspoons, but milliliters.   There are one or two things I have found that didn’t make very much sense but I’m thinking that the team that “Americanized” the book may have made some translation errors or they could be just plain typos.  After making a few things I have learned to research the recipe first online and read what worked and didn’t work for other people.

Everything I made worked out, with some tweaks.  The only thing I made that I didn’t like was the noodle soup with poached egg and that’s because I didn’t have white miso.  It’s unavailable locally and is outrageous online so I worked around it with mixed results.  Also the mushroom quantity is way off and it ruined the flavour.

What’s the best thing that happened from this book?

I learned about the wonders of fish sauce.  Yum!

All that being said, I will continue to try things from this book and it will stay in my collection.

Most of the recipes are available online if you are not into buying the book and some are even on you-tube with Ramsay himself.  The recipes in this book are also featured on Ramsay’s show, Home Cooking.

I encourage you to take a look and try some out.  Let us know how it goes!

 

Leave a Reply

