Favourite Marinated Feta Dip

img_2710

By Corinne

This is a dip I always request from my friend TL- though I think I am more generous with the lemon and less generous with the oil. I also fondly call it my ’emergency’ feta dip, as I can make it in minutes,  I almost always have the ingredients on hand, and people always seem to love it and think there is something magic about it. This is the basic favourite, feel free to improvise- there is a lot of room for variation with the seasonings. In the summer when I have fresh herbs I use them- they are prettier. Sometimes, I put in some thyme when I have it. Delish served with little rounds of bread, crackers… or umm… with a spoon.

Time: 10 minutes or less

Serves: 4-6 as a little appetizer with bread

You will need:

  • 250 g (1 3/4 cup) crumbled feta
  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic minced
  • generous grind of black pepper
  • 4-5 tbsp oil (olive or canola)

Crumble feta and add all ingredients together. Mix well.  Best if you can let it sit for an hour or two to let the flavours get right in there, but also good eaten immediately 🙂 If you let it sit, you might find that the oil and lemon separate a bit, just give it a good stir before serving.

img_2709

Leave a Reply

