Easiest Baked Chicken

By Corinne

The inspiration for this dish was that I had just unpacked my order from Pampered Chef (note, I am not a consultant, do not get any pay or products for mentioning it) and I wanted to use my new RockCrok Everyday Pan right away. I mostly bought this pan because it can go on the BBQ. We don’t have air conditioning, and I do a LOT of BBQ in the summer, but it can get challenging always grilling and keeping things interesting.

Anyway, so I had just unpacked my order and felt like I must make something in it NOW. So I scrounged about to see what I could come up with, as my original supper plans didn’t quite work for this pan. This is one of my threw-it-together-with-what-I-had-on-hand suppers- which I don’t usually bother measuring or blogging, but I had an inkling that it might come out particularly good, so bothered with the pesky measuring devices.

Though I would normally prefer my potatoes to get a bit crispy when I bake them, if you give them a little smash with your fork on your plate and then spoon some of the delightful broth over them they end up not wanting for either crispness, nor butter. I don’t actually have any pictures of this part, because I was too busy putting them in my mouth before I could take a picture of it plated.

Serves: 2, or 3-4  with a side salad

Time: 5-10 min prep, 60-65 min bake

You will need:

  • 2 baking potatoes (I happened to use several heirloom fingerling varieties, but about 2 ‘regular’ potatoes also works)
  • 4 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 small zuchinni

For the rub

  • 1 tsp paprika (sweet, smokey or hot, whatever is your preference)
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Pre-heat oven to 350F. Mix together spices for rub and set aside. Cut potatoes into about 1 inch cubes and sprinkle with about 1/2 tsp of the spice mix. Season chicken on both sides with the remaining rub – just do it over the pan with the potatoes so that any that falls off ends up in your pan 🙂 Place the chicken thighs on top of the potatoes.  Add 1/2 cup white wine to pan.

Bake 40 min covered. Wash zucchini, cut off ends, and then cut in half. If it is a large zucchini, scrape out seeds. Slice into about 1/2 inch wide pieces and reserve until chicken has baked for 40 min.

Add zucchini. Bake 20 min uncovered.

Bake an additional 5 min on broil if desired to crisp up the chicken skin 🙂

To serve, place chicken thighs and vegetables on plate. Give potatoes a quick smash with your fork, then spoon some of the broth from the pan over potatoes and zucchini.

 

 

Leave a Reply

