Chili Lime Roasted Acorn Squash and Black Bean Wraps

By Corinne

My husband is a wonderful person to cook for. He is ever appreciative, isn’t picky and loves ALMOST everything. In fact, even things he doesn’t LOVE he will eat and then when asked for a review of our meal, he will say that it’s, “not my favourite”.

Among things that fall into the ‘not favourite’ category, are any of the sweet vegetables. He doesn’t generally care for cooked carrots, no matter how savory you make them, and generally isn’t a fan of any of the squashes except spaghetti squash, as all the others fall into the ‘sweet vegetable’ category.

But even knowing this, I sometimes can’t help myself at market. I buy squashes because they are beautiful and I like eating them. And I am sure that if do it just right, he won’t notice what he’s eating, and sometimes I’m right 😉 This was one of those meals.

I made my own tortillas, but certainly store bought ones will work just fine.

Makes: about 7 or 8 wraps, depends a bit on how full you make them. They are quite filling.

Time: about 10-15 min prep, 25-30 min bake

You will need:

  • 1 acorn squash
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 medium onion diced
  • 2 tbsp canola or olive oil
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar cheese (I used marble for these pics because I happened to be out of cheddar, but when I have cheddar, that’s what I use)
  • about 2 cups of greens of some sort, romaine works fine, I used a spicy radish mix from the market

For the dressing:

  • juice of three limes – about 1/2 cup
  • 1/4 cup canola
  • 3 tbsp minced cilantro
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 thai chili pepper if desired

Preheat oven to 450F. Halve squash lengthwise, cut off stem ends. Remove seeds and roast if desired (if you like roasted pumpkin seeds, do this! They are delicious!). Cut squash into 3/4″ wide wedges. Brush lightly with canola and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Roast squash for 15 minutes, and then flip. Roast for an additional 10-15 minutes. While squash is roasting, prepare the ‘dressing’. Juice limes, mince garlic, cilantro, and chili pepper (if using) and whisk together with canola and lime juice and set aside.

At the 15 minute mark after you’ve flipped the squash, add 2 tsp of canola or butter to a pan. Chop onion and add to pan. Cook for 5-7 minutes, then add the can of drained, rinsed black beans.

When squash is finished roasting, you have two options. You can leave the skin on, or peel it off the slices after  you’ve let them cool for a few minutes. I don’t mind leaving the skin on, as it is generally pretty thin and I don’t mind eating it. In fact, even when I take it off, I umm…generally eat it as I do so.   I find the variegated variety of acorn squash does tend to have an even thinner skin so am more likely to leave it on, but I removed it tonight.

Drizzle about 1/4 cup of the dressing over the baked squash.

Pour the rest of the ‘dressing’ into the black beans and onions.

Cook black beans and onions for about another 5 minutes until dressing has reduced a bit. Using a potato masher, give black beans a few mashes, you aren’t going for a perfectly smooth texture, you just want them to be broken up enough that they won’t be rolling all over the place.

Place your wrap on a plate, sprinkle some grated cheese down the middle, a few tbsp of the mashed black beans, a few pieces of the roasted squash and some greens. Fold up from the bottom, then fold over the sides (I always do right side first, tuck it in, then left, but the opposite works just as well!) and poke in a toothpick to keep it together. Eat and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

