Coconut Oatmeal Muffins

img_2239

If you haven’t noticed, I’m sure you will, Julie is the baker on this blog. Writing down recipes has forced me to reluctantly start measuring things, and baking is always about measuring stuff. For a long time I lived in a place with an unpredictable oven that often resulted in fairly disastrous results, and a one time full out cookie making tantrum.

Not only that, but I tend not to have much of a sweet tooth. I’d choose chips over chocolate every time. That being said, I do like a muffin, but find many muffins these days are much more like cupcakes minus the icing. Some are sweeter even. And while I’m not entirely against cake for breakfast, I do want my muffins to be somewhat virtuous. Inspired by, but quite modified from Smitten Kitchen

Makes:9-10 muffins (my muffin pan is large, I only got nine)

Time: 30 min, 20 in oven

Oven: 375F

You Will Need:

  • 1/3  cup virgin coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal (quick cooking)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cup full fat Greek-style vanilla yogurt (though I’ve also used plain)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut, plus more for on top

Melt coconut oil in microwave- 20 seconds at a time until just melted. Mix together yogurt, oatmeal, egg and vanilla. Mix the flour, shredded coconut, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Add the sugar to the melted coconut oil, and then whisk this into the yogurt, egg, oatmeal mixture. Add wet ingredients all at once to dry and stir until just combined.

Fill muffin tins about 2/3 full and sprinkle tops with extra shredded coconut if desired.

Bake in oven 18-20 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. img_2239

Leave a Reply

