Pears with Prosciutto and Cheese

img_4814

By Corinne

I know there are a lot of people who love blue cheese. I do not. I appreciate what other people like about it; I get that it’s tangy and creamy… but… to me it tastes mostly like licking the damp corner of the basement. Not to dissuade you from doing this with blue cheese if that’s your thing. I made half of them with Stilton because I know people love it. The half I wanted to eat I made with Oka cheese.

Oka is a Canadian cheese with a rich history. It originated in around 1893 in an abbey in Quebec. It has a unique taste and a pretty and edible orange rind. If you find the rind makes it a bit too tangy for you, you can of course remove it for a milder flavour.

I feel like the combination of pears and prosciutto will likely work with any good flavourful cheese, so try it with something you enjoy!

These are a super quick app to make, but you don’t want to make them too far in advance (an hour or so at most) as the pears will discolour a bit as they sit.

This is easy to double if you wish, but I made a fairly small amount as I was making a variety of other apps as well 🙂

Time: 5-10 min depending on if you’re doubling or not. This comes together super quick

Makes: as written – 10-12 pieces

You will need:

  • 1 ripe pear
  • 5 -6 slices of prosciutto*
  • cheese of your choice! for this plate I used Stilton (blue cheese) on half, and Oka on the other half
  • blackberries for garnish if desired

Cut pear in half and remove seeds and stem. Cut into 10-12 equal sized slices.

Cut up your cheese- I used blue for half and Oka for the other half.

Cut each piece of prosciutto in half length wise.

Begin your assembly. Grab a piece of pear, put a piece of cheese on it and wrap your piece of prosciutto snuggly around it. The prosciutto tends to sort of stick to itself a bit, so it’s unnecessary to use a toothpick to keep it together.

Arrange on a platter and toss some blackberries on there, because they’re pretty and the acidity of them nicely complements the richness of these delightful bites.

*prosciutto is generally gluten free, but you should always double check the package if you are sensitive to gluten

One thought on “Pears with Prosciutto and Cheese

Leave a Reply

