Sausage With Split Pea Puree and Browned Butter

20170109_200442

By: Julie

Serves:  4-6

Time: 60-80 min

This started out being a recipe from the book Simple by Diana Henry.  It went off the rails quite early in the process when I realized I didn’t have a leek.  Or Caraway Seeds.  Also I was sketchy about the whole yellow split-pea thing… they look like dried rocks.  I have spent most of my life avoiding the legume family because my mother doesn’t like them, which means I didn’t eat them as a child. Other than those brief, terrifying times when she bought a random frozen vegetable mix that contained lima beans.  LIMA BEANS!  Nothing will scare you away from legumes more than freezer burnt, electric green lima beans. However, since it is a new year and resolutions are upon us, I decided I simply MUST have MORE LEGUMES IN MY LIFE. They are actually very good for you, very economical, and in this case, freaking delicious.

20170109_193708

Diane uses caraway seeds to flavor her butter, but I just browned it.  I’m super glad I did, it added amazing flavor.

You Will Need:

  • 1 1/2 cups of yellow split peas
  • 1 onion, minced
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 celery stalk, finely chopped.  Diane uses a leek here, which I bet is nice too.
  • 1 tsp dried marjoram 6 cups of broth, broth and water, or just water.  I used 4 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water.  Diane calls for 5 but I found that it wasn’t enough.  I would start with 5 and add more later.
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper – I used a full tsp and it was awesome.  But start with half because you may not be a pepper person.  If you find it’s missing some pizzaz at the end, it’s under-seasoned
  • generous grating of nutmeg.  I used 1/4 tsp.  I recommend fresh ground here
  • 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 stick butter – Diane specifies unsalted, but I like the salted version as it is a garnish
  • 3/4 lb of sausage.  Diane uses smoked.  I couldn’t find it.  I used honey mustard and it was divine.

Preparation:

In a medium sauce pan add the peas, onion, carrot, celery, marjoram, salt, pepper, broth and water.  Bring it to a boil and reduce heat to simmer.  Diane does not specify to cover here so I didn’t which may be why I needed the extra water.  You need to simmer this for at least an hour, preferably 80 min to reach the right consistency.  I have a toddler so time is sanity.  I did 60 min and there were a few al dente peas but it was lovely.

20 min before your puree is done fry up your chosen sausage in a pan until it’s no longer pink but still juicy.

Lastly, once the sausage and puree is done, take it off the heat.  Brown the butter (about 7 min over med heat until golden brown and nutty smelling).

Plate with the puree down, then sausage (whole or cut, your choice.. I find it goes further if I cut it up ahead of time).  Then drizzle with the browned butter.

Serve with a green salad.  It’s a bit on the heavy side so you really need the salad to lighten it up.

20170109_193906

 

Leave a Reply

