Buttermilk Mashed Potatoes with Horseradish and Dill

I love the tang of buttermilk, I love the zip of horseradish, and Dill is quickly becoming my favourite herb.  So why not put them all together?

I was making some sticky dry garlic ribs and didn’t have a side planned so I used the opportunity to be creative.  I would normally serve these with something beefy to compliment the horseradish but they held up well to the pork ribs.

20160423_175740

You Will Need

  • 4 cups peeled and quartered yukon gold potatoes
  • 1 tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tbsp prepared horseradish
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Boil the potatoes in generously salted water until tender.  Drain well.  Add butter, salt and buttermilk and mash.  I do this by hand, but feel free to cream them with electric beaters if desired.  Add the dill and horseradish and mix well.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

